You are currently viewing How to delete Snapchat?

How to delete Snapchat?

  • Post author:
  • Reading time:6 mins read

Snapchat is a very popular instant messaging app among youngsters. It allows users to send photos and videos that are viewable for a short time. Nowadays, millions of active users are consuming and creating content with Snapchat. Still, everyone is not happy with the mobile app. The most prominent concern with Snapchat is privacy. The company’s whole idea was that when someone sends a photo or a video to a fellow Snapchat user, the data disappears after it has been seen, but there is a point at which this data exist on Snapchat’s servers.  

Another reason for deleting this app is that a recipient can record snaps without the creator’s knowledge and permission. However, Snapchat sends a notification when a recipient takes a screenshot or records a video, yet some apps allow recipients to outwit these checks. In this article, we will learn how can you deactivate or delete Snapchat. We have also given the steps to download your data alongside instructions to deactivate your Snapchat account. If you have planned to delete your Snapchat account permanently, you should make a backup of your data.

How to delete a Snapchat account on your computer?

For people who want to take a break from this app for them, there is no facility to disable your account temporarily. There is only one-way permanent deletion of Snapchat. To delete your Snapchat account, follow these steps:

  1. Go to accounts Snapchat.com
  2. Login into your account
  3. Enter the security code sent to the phone number and click submit
  4. Click on Account security, Delete My Account, and account portal.
  5. Enter username and password once again.
  6. Click on continue.
  7. Done!
  8. Don’t log into the app again. It will delete permanently in 30 days.

How to remove a Snapchat account on iPhone or android?

  1. Open Snapchat App.
  2. Tap on your Avatar on the top of the left corner.
  3. Tap on the gear icon.
  4. Scroll down to the Support heading and press I need help.
  5. You will redirect to Snapchat’s Support page.
  6. At the top of the page, there is a search bar.
  7. Type Delete my account. It will appear and press it to delete your account.
  8. Tap the account portal link. It will take you Snapchat account deletion page. 
  9. Enter your username and password, and click on continue. Your account will remove in 30 days.

You might also be interested to know How to download Youtube videos?

What will happen after deleting Snapchat?

When you have completed the deletion process of your account, Snapchat will take 30 days to delete your account. Now, you have just four weeks to rethink. After 30 days, Snapchat will delete all the data of your account from its database that are:

  • Account
  • Account setting
  • Friends
  • Snaps
  • Chats
  • Story
  • device data
  • location data

According to Snapchat policy, it stores some of your personal information. It saved three types of Data in its database:

  • Information you have given voluntarily (info entered while signing up)
  • Information is collected while you are using Snapchat.
  • The Data was gathered from third parties.

Snapchat can share this information with other users, sister companies, business partners, and other friendly parties.

How to make a backup of your Snapchat account?

Snapchat’s data contains login history, account information, profiles, snap and chat history, memories, friends, and more. Before deletion, you can download your data and preserve it. To download the data, follow these steps:

  1. Go to snapchat.com
  2. Login to your account.
  3. Click My Data and submit a request.
  4. You will receive a download link to your linked email address.
  5. Click on the link to download your data.

How can you reactivate your Snapchat Account?

Reactivation of a Snapchat account is very simple. Snapchat takes 30 days to delete an account. During this period, you can retrieve your account. You need to log back in with your username and password. It probably takes 24 hours to activate your account again. 

However, you cannot log back in or reactivate your account after 30 days. In this situation, you need to create a new Snapchat when your old one has expired.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply